I WILL SHARE JESUS!

A couple of Saturday night’s ago I joined about 100 young people in Circular Quay to hand out DVD’s, book, talk to people – basically to ‘share Jesus’. Initially I was excited to be a part of this, but then came the thoughts and doubts, like ‘I don’t feel like bugging tourists!’ and ‘What about the follow up – who’s going to disciple these people?’ and ‘Is this just another experience to get our kicks ?’. Here’s kinda what happened:

http://vimeo.com/39257115

I actually had the best conversations (and was able to share Jesus) with people on my journey into to the city. There was the Indian businessman whom I gave a ride in my car after our train to the city got derailed up the line somewhere. Then there was the young lad on the train who was going to work as a ‘glassy’ in a club that night. At the end of our convo I encouraged him to read the gospels after seeing he had some interest in the Word. I find it easier to share when you’re ‘stuck’ on transport or sharing a smaller space with strangers.

However – I must say – I reckon this experience was good. It tests your faith. It makes you practise prayer. It forces you out of your comfort zone. It reveals a need for the Spirit’s movement, leading and discernment. It’s part of what God asked us to do on this earth (not bug people – but share Him!). It sees young people sowing seeds that will sometimes reap huge harvests. The first time Avondale students usually come to the city is for the Mardi Gras – so it was refreshing to see this as an alternative that would yield different results.

The challenge for me is to share him with strangers and those familiar-but-not-known people that I encounter each day.

For more info check: http://iwsj.com/

2 Responses to I WILL SHARE JESUS!

  1. Looking good. Stoked to see people sharing their faith. Blessings on the journey!

  2. jodineazzopardi says:

    I really agree that while traveling with people or waiting for something there is a wonderful opportunity to share our faith with those who are open. What a great experience.

Leave a comment